Different

Still counting down to Love One Four!!! It starts officially on 7th February (my birthday 😉 ) so stay tuned!!!

Love One-Four For now though, one of our guest writers has an amazing piece she sent  in to share with us so while counting down and waiting, pick a glass and let’s toast – To Love, To being different and to celebrating unity in diversity!

Enjoy this piece by Shekie Gunju

I knew I did not belong when I became myself.
It was my strange dark and tough hair that tangled up and took five hours to braid while others fluffed their soft and wavy hair while it dramatically blew in the wind.
It was my height, weight and color that classified as too short, too fat, too dark, while everyone else bounced around in the fluffy clouds of their perfect perfection.
It was my use glasses, braces, crutches and every other thing signified a disability and handicap in my life.
It was my non usage of cars, tight dresses, fancy jewelry, expensive phones and everything else that was classified as ‘cool’. I always seemed to be struggling while others lay down together on fluffy recliners and talked about their fancy topics.
It was my lack of knowledge and understanding of their fancy topics and my exclusion from conversation because I did not have anything positive or even negative to contribute.
It was the absence of a partner or a friend’s back to slap mid laughter while I vainly struggled to hold my tears back. The absence of a friend’s arms or hands to hold while tears flowed out of my ears for different reasons and someone to be vulnerable with, because everyone else’s arms were occupied with holding and comforting themselves.
It was my inability to understand the way everyone else thought and functioned; why was I always the only one asking any questions?
BUT,
It was my interesting and comfortable braids that I appreciated when the wind blew other’s soft and wavy hair into their faces.
It was my height, weight and color that fell into just perfect that gave me an identity as a person because the inhabitants in the clouds of perfect perfection were non-existent.
It was my disabilities and handicaps that gave me a chance to better myself and improve in any way that I could while the ones without any problems never progressed.
It was my sitting on the rough beach sands and non-usage of ‘cool’ things that allowed me to explore my creativity and find other ways to amuse myself and cultivate the talents that I never knew I had.
It was my lack of knowledge and exclusion from conversation that pushed me to read, research and listen.
It was the absence of a best friend and person to be vulnerable with that allowed me find God, the best person to lean on and cry to.
It was my incessant questions that helped others answer their silent questions that they were too afraid to ask and it was also the broadening of my knowledge.
It is the very thing that classifies me as weird and strange that makes me different and unique. My difference is what makes me who I am. It is the fact that I do not belong that makes me stand out for who I am and what I believe in. So, the next time I feel left out and out of place, I remember that my ‘weakness’ is also my strength because it is my difference that will take me to the top. So I thank God that I do not belong because I am not a puzzle piece but an imperfect star.

Be you and be proud! Keep shining!! Stay true to yourself!!!

One thought on “Different

  1. Pingback: My Love Word II – Day 6 | Chilling with Shay

Say something, let's know you were here!

